

First Church in Belmont, Unitarian Universalist

166th Annual Meeting Minutes June 12, 2022

11:18am - Welcoming and call to order

• The meeting was called to order at 11:18 am by Sam James, Parish Board President (2020-2022).

11:19 Opening Prayer – Rev. Chris Holton Jablonski

• Donna Marcova poem

11:20 Quorum Call – 88 present, meets quorum of 62. Quorum affirmed by Sam Foster

Opening Remarks – Sam

- Quoting George Vaillant's study "Adaptations to Life" Components needed for coping with life stresses 1. Planning, 2. Resilience, and 3. Humor
- Secured lease with Henry Frost Childrens Program ("HFCP"), annual rent \$90,000
- This year over \$633,000 in Pledges; thank you!
- Christmas Services cancelled due to Covid; however, over 100 gathered outside to sing Christmas Carols.

11:25 Approval of Minutes of June 2021 Annual Meeting

- Moved by Eloise McGaw
- Approved by unanimous acclamation of Congregation

Thanks for service to FCB

- Laurie distributed gifts to past Parish Board Members whose terms ended during Covid ('20-'21)
- Thanks, acknowledging Covid Task Force
- Thanks, acknowledging FCB Staff contributions

11:30 Budget Review – Martha Read

- A Financial Town Hall was held Mid-May, hosted by Finance Cte
- 2023 Budget approved by Finance Cte and confirmed by Parish Board
- Highlighting member support through pledges
- Highlighting Johnson House lease to Henry Frost Childcare Program (HFCP)

- Highlighting new grants through UUA
 - \$7,000 UUA Intern grant
 - \$10,000 Kids UUnited grant- CRE curriculum
- Projecting a very small deficit, vicinity of \$8,000
- 230 Pledge Units contributing to Stewardship Campaign
- Powers \$15,000 rental classroom wing this FY
- \$42,000 of HFCP (remainder in next fiscal year)
- 5.3% COLA for staff as recommended by UUA
- \$5,000 for off-site storage (formerly in Johnson House basement)
- \$2,000 increase for Soloist

11:41 Approval of Budget for 2022-23 Fiscal Year

- Moved by Mark Rosenstein
- Unanimous Consent of Congregation

11:43 Report of the Nominating Committee – Richard Waring

- This is the first year for nominations to the Committee on Ministry ("COM")
- Work of Nom Comm was started last December
- Biggest ask: David Deese as incoming Vice President of PB

11:47 Motion to Approve Slate for Parish Board

• Parish Board Officers to be elected:

President: Laurie Graham (2022-2024) Vice President: David Deese (2022-2024)

• Continuing Officers to be elected:

Treasurer: Martha Read (2020-TBD) Parish Board Clerk: James Hencke (2021-2024)

• New At-Large Trustees to be elected:

Martha Courant (2022-2025) Ariane Frank (2022-2025)

• Continuing At-Large Trustees to be elected:

Priscilla Cobb (2021-2024) Roger Gallagher (2021-2024) Pam Eggert (2020-2023) Anjali Kumar (2020-2023) Doug Massidda (2020-2023)

- Past President (Ex-Officio):
- Samuel James (2022-2024) Moved by Joel Mooney
- Approved by Unanimous Consent of Congregation

11:48 Motion to Approve Slate for Finance Committee

• New Finance Committee Members to be elected: Jon Bridges (2022-2025) Catherine Claypoole (2022-2025) Lauren Corning (2022-2025)

• Continuing Finance Committee Members, all returning, to be elected:

Stefan Frank (2019-2022) (Chair 2020-2023) Mike Widmer (2019-2023) Brian Caputo (2020-2023)

• Ex-officio Members:

Laurie Graham, Parish Board President Martha Read, Parish Board Treasurer

- Moved by Eloise McGaw
- Approved by Unanimous Consent of Congregation

11:49 Motion to Approve Slate of Committee on Ministry ("COM")

• Nominations for New Members of the Committee on Ministry: Jackie James (2022-2025) Leslie Kolterman (2022-2025) June Lattimore (2022-2025)

• Continuing Committee on Ministry Members to be elected:

Margaret Dunn (2021-2023) Mary Harrison (2021-2023) David Lind (2021-2023) Laura Wooster (2021-2024) Nick Hausmann (2021-2024) Kathy Crawley (2021-2024), Chair Chris Jablonski, ex officio

- Moved by Eloise McGaw
- Approved by Unanimous Consent of Congregation

11:52 Motion to Approve Nominating Committee

• New members of the Nominating Committee to be elected:

Martha Gallagher (2022-2025) Marion Westgate (2022-2025)

• Continuing members of the Nominating Committee to be elected:

Nicole Griffin (2020-2023), Chair Karsten Kueppenbender (2020-2023) Catherine Stalberg (2021-2024)

Jonathan Wolf (2021-2024) Co-Chair

- Moved by Bob McGaw
- Approved by Unanimous Consent of Congregation

11:53 Committee on Ministry ("COM") Review – Eloise McGaw

- Eloise retiring after 3 yr term as Chair
- 15 years ago started with Doris Hunter, former Interim Minister
- Purpose of COM: provide feedback loop between minister, staff & congregation
- Provide 3-yr staggered terms for members, with Minister as ex-officio
- This structure voted in at last year's Annual Meeting
- COM to be populated by Nominating Committee with new members
- COM to present Annual Report to the Congregation
- Congregation isolated in 2020 due to Covid, but persisted
- Listening Circles in Jan'20, on Zoom Mar '20, over 100 participated
- Jan '22 hosted a reflection at Sunday Coffeehour, 50+ attending
- Mar '22 over 50 in Listening Circles, most attendees were 10+ year members
- Key questions: What brought us in, what keeps us here, aspirations
- Feedback: yearning for more intergenerational activities, keeping a hybrid mode, and deeper connections
- Performance review of Minister performed by Chair of COM and President of Parish Board
- Plans & hopes: more feedback across generations & targeted Listening Circles
- Shout out to Lauren Corning, rotating off COM & joining Finance Cte.

12:02 Safer Congregations initiative – Bayard Klimasmith

- Approached by Marion Westgate on subject of program safety in 2019
- Emphasis on children, digital communication, legal, safety, confidentiality
- Peeled off as separate strategy: Violent intruder, engaged Belmont PD
- Started initiative proactively, without a compelling incident that provided impetus
- Why do other congregations struggle?
- No defining difference between perpetrators and other priests, so conclude an institutional weakness w/lack of transparency.
- FCB already had some good procedures, but a lack of consistency and no procedure for oversight
- When should staff report to the Parish Board?
- Goal: to protect the most vulnerable.
- 11 years ago Behavioral Covenant should be reflected
- Reduce opportunity for errors
- Seeking permission from parents
- Avoid unilateral decision making
- Make it easier to report breaches
- Both PB and staff automatically notified of violations of protocol
- Build ability for adjustments to procedures

- Establish Safer Congregation Coordinator on PB
- Schedule of regular training for staff and volunteers
- MA Form 51A mandatory report
- Clear pathways w/confidentiality guidelines
- Social Media policy, incl. Zoom breakout rooms
- Offered QR code for congregation access to Safer Congregation docs
- Policy going up on Website

12:18 Goodbyes – Sam James

- Highlighted Covid challenges
- Property care challenges
- Good partnership w/staff
- Took stock of 166 year old institution
- Recognition of present Parish Board
- Thanks to retiring: Lynn Read & Bayard Klimasmith

12:22 Introduce Incoming President - Laurie Graham

- Opening remarks Welcome new PB Members
- "
- Thanks to Sam James
- Preview of Upcoming initiatives
 - Bylaw Cte to present in the fall
 - Review of Ames Covenant John Howe to help create separate group
 - FCB Green Ongoing move to "Carbon-Free" by 2035, working with Property Care & Finance, then presenting to PB
 - Compensation Committee: David Deese, Martha Read, Pam Eggert Keep focus on how we are compensating staff;
 - COM Expand on what is learned from Listening Circles
 - Tower Clock Mike Flamang initative Town Meeting last week approved grant from Belmont Community Preservation Funds which also requires 10% (\$2,900) contribution from FCB/Belmont community

12:30 Adjournment – Laurie Graham

- Motion by Bob McGaw
- approved unanimously